Four former MLB standouts elected to Hall of Fame

Four former MLB standouts elected to Hall of Fame

by - Senior Editor -

The Baseball Writers' Association of America balloting for the National Baseball Hall of Fame on Tuesday selected Mariano Rivera, Roy Halladay, and Edgar Martinez for the upcoming class.

Rivera was the first unanimous selection in the 83-year history of the Hall of Fame.

Mussina cleared the HOF line (75%) by only seven votes at 76.7 percent in his sixth year of eligibility.

Roger Clemens received 59.5 percent and Barry Bonds had 59.1 of the votes which was not enough for induction and they will have three more years remaining on the ballot.

Former Cubs slugger Sammy Sosa will stay on the ballot for another year with his 8.5 percent showing. Five percent is the cutoff point before you fall off the ballot.

The Hall of Fame induction ceremony will take place in Cooperstown, N.Y. on July 19-22.

Comment on this story
Send Feedback to Tony Crumpton: Email | Comment
Post your comments!