courtesy - Cubs Media
courtesy - Cubs Media

Bryant, Epstein receive Negro legacy awards

by -

CHICAGO – The Negro Leagues Baseball Museum presented Chicago Cubs third baseman Kris Bryant and President of Baseball Operations Theo Epstein with Legacy Awards before this evening’s game at Wrigley Field. The Legacy Awards annually honor the best Major League Baseball players, managers and executives from both the National and American League.

Given his exceptional play on the field during last year’s run to the World Series Championship, Negro Leagues Baseball Museum president Bob Kendrick and board member Bob Page presented Bryant with the 2016 Oscar Charleston Award. The Oscar Charleston Legacy Award is presented to the National and American League’s "Most Valuable Player." Charleston, who was inducted into the National Baseball Hall of Fame in 1976, is widely regarded as one of the greatest all-around players in baseball history and has drawn comparisons to Ty Cobb, the bat of Babe Ruth and the defensive prowess of Tris Speaker.

Epstein is the recipient of the 2016 “Rube” Foster "Executive of the Year" award. Foster established the Negro National League in 1920. He owned and managed the Chicago American Giants while developing some of the Negro Leagues’ finest talent. He was inducted into the National Baseball Hall of Fame in 1981.

Comment on this story
Post your comments!