Dale Zanine-USA TODAY Sports
Dale Zanine-USA TODAY Sports

Cubs News: Joe Maddon voted 2nd in Manager of the Year by BBWAA

by - Senior Editor -

Cubs skipper Joe Maddon finished second place in the National League Manager of the Year with the Baseball Writer's Association of America on Tuesday night. Dodgers manager Dave Roberts won his first manager of the year award leading his team to 90 regular season wins. Roberts is the sixth manager in baseball history to win the award in his first season managing.

Maddon led the Chicago Cubs to their first World Series title since 1908. If Maddon would have won this year, it would have been his 4th in his career and would have tied Bobby Cox and Tony LaRussa for most Manager of the Year awards all-time.

Note that the voting was for the regular season only and not for any postseason action. Maddon ended up beating the NL Manager of the Year and AL Manager of the year in the 2016 postseason.


Dave Roberts 108

Joe Maddon 70 (8 first place, 8 second place, and 6 third place votes)

Dusty Baker 66

Terry Collins 24

Don Mattingly 2

Maddon did get a win on Tuesday as he won the National League Manager of the Year with the Internet Baseball Writers Association of America.

Comment on this story
Send Feedback to Tony Crumpton: Email | Comment
Post your comments!