Cubs News: Jake Arrieta wins ESPY award

Cubs News: Jake Arrieta wins ESPY award

by - Senior Editor -

Cubs ace pitcher Jake Arrieta won an ESPY award for 'Best Breakthrough Athlete' for last season on Wednesday night. Arrieta won the award over nominees UFC fighter Conor McGregor, snowboarder Chloe Kim and NBA player Karl-Anthony Towns.

The reigning 2015 NL CY Young Award winner was 22-6 with a 1.77 ERA, 236 strikeouts, and a 0.86 WHIP in one of the top statistical pitching seasons in recent history.

In 2016, Arrieta is 12-4 with a 2.68 ERA, 121 strikeouts, and a 1.09 WHIP. Since the beginning of the 2015 season, he has a 2.07 ERA with two no-hitters.


Best Record-Breaking Performance: Stephen Curry

Best Breakthrough Athlete: Jake Arrieta

Best Play: Aaron Rodgers to Richard Rodgers

Best Team: Cleveland Cavaliers

Best Female Athlete: Breanna Stewart

Best Male Athlete: LeBron James

Best Championship Performance: LeBron James

Best Game: NBA Finals Game 7

Best NBA Player: LeBron James

Best MLB Player: Bryce Harper

Best Female Action Sports Athlete: Jamie Anderson

Best Male Action Sports Athlete: Ryan Dungey

Best Jockey: Mario Gutierrez

Best Bowler: Jason Belmonte

Best Female College Athlete: Breanna Stewart

Best Female Athlete with a Disability: Tatyana McFadden

Best Male Athlete with a Disability: Richard Browne

Best Upset: Holly Holm over Ronda Rousey

Best Coach: Tyronn Lue

Best International Athlete: Cristiano Ronaldo

Best Fighter: Conor McGregor

Best NFL Player: Cam Newton

Best NHL Player: Sidney Crosby

Best WNBA Player: Maya Moore

Best Male College Athlete: Buddy Hield

Best Driver: Kyle Busch

Best Male Golfer: Jordan Spieth

Best Female Golfer: Lydia Ko

Best Male Tennis Player: Novak Djokovic

Best Female Tennis Player: Serena Williams

Best MLS player: Sebastian Giovinco


Jimmy V Award for Perseverance: Craig Sager

Arthur Ashe Award for Courage: Zaevion Dobson

Pat Tillman Award for Service: Sergeant Elizabeth Marks

Best Moment: Cleveland wins first title in 52 years

Best Comeback Athlete: Eric Berry

Icon Award: Kobe Bryant, Peyton Manning and Abby Wambach

Comment on this story
Send Feedback to Tony Crumpton: Email | Comment
Post your comments!